Give it a Try

This quote is the only way to describe the process I’m starting.

19105584_10155436494394173_8900899966456519308_n

As of today, I have sent my children’s book manuscript (unsolicited of course) to three publishers. My goal is to send the manuscript to all the publishers on my list before the first rejection letter can come in. The act of placing the envelope in the mail, is not nerve wracking, even the waiting isn’t nerve wracking yet. It’s the first envelope that comes back that will be nerve wracking. But hey, I can’t complain about the way things are going in my life if I don’t at least try to change them.

I’m trying to figure out what caused this big push to send out the manuscript. Sure, I want to change my career path and get my writing out there, but I think it was more than that. I think I just got tired of hearing the negativity surrounding this industry. I’m aware that it’s a tough industry, and it’s even tougher to try and break into it as a new, unknown writer. And I’m also aware that even though I did my research and revised and tailored each query letter I sent with my beloved manuscript, I will still almost undoubtedly get rejected. I get it. I hear you. But just like that quote, my heart is whispering “Give it a try.” And my heart is whispering, “What if they love it?” and “It only takes one.” So I’m sure I will be cursing myself and my hope once I read that first, second, or fifteenth rejection letter, but for now, I’m going to take a chance, and give it a try. I listen to my head over my heart far too often anyways.

I also started my second children’s book. I’m about one third of the way through and I’m having to remind myself that the process for writing this one, likely won’t be the same as the first one. The first book I wrote in one sitting, beginning to end. Then, I sent it to a few people, then I revised it based on some of the feedback. This new book I have the beginning, middle, and end laid out in my head, but I’m starting to get caught up on little details. I don’t want this one detail to change the overall meaning of the story. I stopped writing because I had to re-visit those details and decide how/if I wanted to change them.

I want to take a minute and thank all of my readers and supporters. Being an aspiring author is really hard, and I couldn’t continue on this path without all of the support I get. For those of you who read my first blog and followed me here, and those of you who follow me now and knew nothing about me before this blog existed, and those of you who read my posts every time you see them on Facebook, and my loved ones around me who have never once doubted my ability, even when I have, thank you, thank you, thank you. From the bottom of my heart, you still keep me going, and keep me writing.

-M

P.S. Meg Cabot responded to my Tweet 😀 (And yes, I know it was probably her assistant and not her, but don’t take this away from me, it’s the most exciting thing to happen on Twitter ever in my mind!)

 

Leave a Reply

