Chocolate Banana Energy Bars

Once upon a time, I had a baking blog. I made it for my Writing in Online Environments class while at Colorado State University. (I got an A+, just sayin’!) I loved how cute it looks and how it forced me to bake and/or write every week. And I told myself at the end of the semester that I would keep it up after the class was over.

Well, that didn’t quite happen. Even though I continue to bake, by the time I remember to take pictures of the process, it’s too late! So while this is not a baking blog, I am testing out a baking post, to see how it does. Maybe it will inspire me to revamp the baking blog!

This recipe is something that I came up with in the shower last night. I knew I had an over-ripe banana, but only one. I have been obsessed with honey lately. And after I thought of bananas and honey, peanut butter just came naturally.  And after that, I knew I had to add some chocolate in there. So here is my completely improvised recipe for Chocolate Banana Energy Bars. (Which were going to be clusters at first.)

*Please note that these “measurements” are approximate, as I just added what I felt looked — or tasted — like the right amount. Feel free to customize and come up with your own proportions!

1 ripe banana
1 Tbsp honey
1/4 cup peanut butter
1/2 tsp salt
1 1/2 – 2 cups old fashioned oats
1/3 chocolate chips


 

 

 

 

 

 

 

First, I mashed the banana. Add the honey, and stir. At this point the mixture is wet and sticky. Next, mix in the peanut butter. Even stickier. Then I worried that it would be too sweet, so I added salt. And then the oats. You can add more or less, depending on how sticky and wet your mixture is.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

At this point I stood there and just looked at the mixture. I had a couple different options. I could mix in mini chocolate chips. I could roll the mixture into balls and chill them. Then I could drizzle chocolate over the balls. I could roll the mixture into balls and bake them. And then drizzle with chocolate. There were so many choices!

My dad made the suggestion that I make it into bars. So I flattened out the mixture on a foil lined baking sheet and added chocolate chips. (I used dark, but milk, or semi-sweet chocolate would work as well). You can also put the chocolate chips down first, and then flatten the mixture.

img_0608

I put this into the oven at 350 degrees. In total, it cooked for 15 minutes. About halfway through, I spread the melting chocolate chips out using a rubber spatula. I decided it was done when the edges started to crisp up. However, the bars themselves are still moist, and chewy!


I cut them up into bars and refrigerated the leftovers.

Thanks for being my guinea pigs on this baking post! Let me know if you try the bars!

One thought on “Chocolate Banana Energy Bars

Leave a Reply

