I Hope You are Still Able to Have Hope

I typically don’t write about current events or controversies. I almost always have an opinion on them though. The only time I ever choose to write about such topics is when I have so much to say about them that I will burst if I don’t get it out. So here are my thoughts on the Stanford Sexual Assault case.

First off, for years I wanted to be a prosecuting attorney. I have a lot of opinions about the legal system and those in it. One of those opinions is that we need to prosecute women who lie about rape and sexual assault. Obviously, there needs to be hard evidence that proves she is lying, but regardless, women who lie about things like that can ruin someone else’s life and they need to be held responsible for that.

That being said, the Stanford case is not one of those instances. I also believe that women who have been assaulted in any way need to speak up. We need to believe them, but not blindly, that’s not equality for all either. There is no excuse for this Stanford case. That monster who will remain nameless in my writing was found in the act. I mean what more do you need?

To the two heroes, Carl-Fredrik Arndt and Peter Jonsson, that saw something strange, and stopped it. You both give me hope. You did not fall victim to the bystander effect, you took action and you both should be commended. I hope that whatever trauma or damage you both may have experienced in witnessing such a heinous crime does not change who you are. You are brave, extraordinary souls and I can only hope you both can recognize that yourselves.

To the monster’s father: Are you fucking kidding me with that letter?? Your son can’t enjoy steak anymore?? Can you think for one second what the victim cannot enjoy anymore? What she will no longer be able to enjoy for the rest of her life? She didn’t want to be in her own body anymore, but you’re right, not being able to eat a steak must be so difficult. Your son “is consumed with worry, anxiety, fear, and depression?” Well maybe he shouldn’t have raped someone! Again, what is the victim’s life now consumed with? Your son is not the victim. The only thing your son could possibly be a victim of is poor parenting. Any parent who defends his son’s despicable actions against another human being should not be able to call themselves a parent. And the now infamous line: “that is a steep price to pay for 20 minutes of action out of his 20 plus years of life.” I was speechless after reading that. Are you really using the time it took for him to do this as justification? Okay, let’s look at it this way: How long would it take for someone to murder your son? Let’s say 20 seconds. Are those 20 seconds of action worth 20 plus years? And in response to your statement: “He will never be his happy go lucky self with that easy going personality and welcoming smile,” all I have to say is “Damn right.” Again, I can’t imagine how your son has changed the victim’s personality and smile for the rest of her life.

To the judge: Really? You’re an elected official. What message are you sending to women? What message are you sending to men like the monster? So you’re “worried that a stiffer sentence would have a ‘severe impact’ on the 20-year-old?” That’s what he needs. First off, what impact did this joke of a sentence have on the victim? What impact has this whole ordeal had on her? Was your sentence meant to be a slap on the wrist for him and a slap in the face to her? What could he possibly learn from a 6 month sentence in a county jail? 6 months is nothing compared to what the victim is going to have to deal with for the rest of her life. Can you imagine if the victim was your daughter and the perpetrator got that sentence? It is judges like you that make me lose faith in the judicial system. You should be ashamed.

To the monster: I read your pitiful letter. The party culture made you do this? Are you that weak? There are plenty of people who can party and not sexually assault anyone. You’re not sorry you did it; you’re sorry you got caught. You’re sorry that your pathetic swimming record is tarnished. . You are not sorry that you mentally and physically violated another human being. You are a pathetic excuse for a human and a coward.

To the victim: I cannot imagine what you are going through. I can only hope that with time, patience, and love you can heal. I can only hope that you do not give that monster the power to ruin anything more for you. I can only hope that you do not let this heinous act devalue your body, your life, and your worth. I can only hope that you can someday use your strength and your voice to help women just like you. I can only hope that one day you find love that you deserve and someone who can show you what true intimacy really is, mentally and physically. I can only hope that if you choose to have children that you will teach them the difference between right and wrong. And I can only hope that you are the last victim like this. And while that is a big hope to have, this case has shown me that hope is sometimes all we have on our side. I hope that you are still able to have hope in your life.

One thought on “I Hope You are Still Able to Have Hope

Leave a Reply

