Sunrise or Sunset?

Well, well, well, here you are again, reader. Did you come back because I said in my last post that I would be starting the writing prompts from 300 Writing Prompts? No? Well… That’s awkward… We’re just going to keep moving on here.

For those of you who are just here by coincidence, here’s the short of it all. I bought a book of 300 writing prompts and I am trying to convince myself that I can make a powerful piece of writing out of all of them. And then I had a delusion that my readers would hold me accountable for all 300 of them. We’ll see. Anyways, after flipping through the book, the first one I chose to write about was this question:

Which do you prefer, sunrise or sunset? 

I am a Colorado native, our sunsets and sunrises are breathtaking. If I didn’t get to see at least one of them everyday, I would end up being a very grumpy soul.

That being said, nothing is more beautiful and serene than a sunrise.

When I started dating Alex, I wanted us to stay up all night talking and cuddling and losing track of time until we started to realize that the sun was coming up. I wanted to watch the sun rise within his arms and then fall asleep together with that image as the canvas for our dreams. I see the sunrise as my catalyst to take on the world. I am unstoppable because I know that whatever goes wrong in a day, the sun will always rise tomorrow. And that means that I live another day to be completely unstoppable.

Almost every day, when I go outside to get in my car and drive to work, I take a deep breath in. I let the fresh, morning air fill my lungs and relax my body. It is crisp and clean and the morning is quiet as I take a moment to think about how beautiful life can be, and how quickly we pass it by, and take it for granted.

The sunrise gives me hope. A fresh day is about to begin, and you have no idea what is in store for that day. This could be a day that you remember for the rest of your life. You could meet the love of your life, land your dream job, or save a life at some point throughout this day. The colorful layers of the sunrise hold promises and surprises. The sunrise will calm my soul and bring me to life. You have a fresh start. Don’t take that for granted.

(And people wonder why I’m a morning person.)

 

2 thoughts on “Sunrise or Sunset?

Leave a Reply

