Just Keep Writing

I’ve come to believe that struggling artists are the hardest on themselves. And we can form a community and solidarity around this. Sometimes you just have to talk to another writer, and often it’s just to make sure that you’re not completely crazy. Am I doing the right thing? Is this even worth the effort? Does anyone else understand this feeling? Yes. We do. We’re all in it together.

Just yesterday I was talking to a fellow writer about motivation, discipline, self-loathing, and taking yourself and your art seriously. I was having an exceptionally terrible day at work and had to seriously talk myself out of quitting the job that I abhor. I was feeling discouraged for wasting my degree and not living up to my potential. I was disappointed that the market I currently live in is not one where writers can thrive and then I recieved another email that my blog post from last week was published on Thought Catalog. It was exactly what I needed.

I can’t publish anything, if I don’t write it. I can’t get paid to be a writer, if I don’t keep working at it. And if I don’t take myself seriously as a writer, then why would anyone else?

Every day I am surprised that people care what I write about. People take precious time out of their lives to read what I write, and it may actually mean something to them. That’s all I’ve ever wanted. So thank you to every single one of my readers (including the critics), you all keep me going.

-M

Writer

Leave a Reply

