25 Days of Wishes Days 2 and 3

Day 2: I wish that the citizens of this country could remember the last time they truly felt safe. I wish that we didn’t have to be on high alert whenever we’re in a crowded room. I wish that my nephews didn’t have to hear about all the tragedies that keep occurring and fear going to school. I wish politicians didn’t use these tragedies to further their agendas. I wish we were all a little bit kinder to one another, a little more understanding, and a little more compassionate.

Day 3: I wish there was an easy fix for a current friendship of mine. I feel as though I lost her to a relationship. Now I understand that the beginning of a new relationship is exciting and fun and all you want to do is spend time with that person. But when it’s been a year or more, you have to remember the life and the friends you had before that. Friendship is a two-way street. We all want to talk about ourselves; people love that. But that’s just it, sometimes people want you to listen to them as well. If you ask for advice and you continue to disregard it, they will stop giving it. If you come to them to talk about the same issues, they will run out of things to say. If you never seem interested in their lives, they will eventually stop talking about it. And what kind of friendship is that? Sounds more like a therapist/patient relationship. We have been friends for quite some time and I can feel that bond slipping away. And I want to grab on to it, but what’s really in it for me?

2 thoughts on “25 Days of Wishes Days 2 and 3

  1. Chrellie says:

    Also, it is frustrating when friends only want you to go with them to places that you like but won’t consider your suggestions. Friendships can be tough the older we get, too. Maybe suggest getting together but leave the ball in her court if she isn’t up for. Good luck!

    Like

Leave a Reply

