Accomplishing Goals (Ahead of Schedule!)

A couple of months ago, I wrote a post about my ten year plan as one of the prompts from the F*ck I’m in My Twenties Guided Journal. Here is one of the things I wrote that day:

In two years I want to… get published somewhere, travel and help my parents travel also, plan a wedding.”

I also included this picture. 1439427240344723

And then I wrote:  “I thought about that [the quote in the picture above] a little bit more and completely agree. It’s almost as if it is a contract for yourself. So this time, I wrote them on the page in the journal first, instead of typing them.”

A little over a month later, I was published on Thought Catalog. A week later, I was published again. Now more than ever, I believe that writing down your goals really can affect your mind. I am going to continue to write down my goals and maybe even tape them to my mirror or my computer at work. And when I can finally cross one off and feel that incredible sense of accomplishment, I can then make room for another one.

For all the fellow writers who may come across this post. I urge you to put your work out there. It’s one thing to have a blog and maintain full control over who and what gets published. It is quite another thing to give your work to a complete stranger and essentially say, “Here is my hard work, my heart on a page, feel free to tear into it.” We’ve all had pieces that we are proud of and turn in and it comes back to us with markings of red pen all over it. It causes a flood of emotions that you never expected. But then, you grow.

Mind you, you will probably be rejected more times than not. Most of the time, they won’t tell you why you were rejected, or what you can work on for the future, it’s just the silent treatment before you learn to accept that it was another rejection. And another lesson. We are subtly rejected everyday so we might as well get used to it.

-M

P.S. I know Thought Catalog is not necessarily the most well-known, or prestigious publication out there. And I don’t care. Someone else felt like they could relate to my writing and that others could too. And that is the reason I write in the first place.

Leave a Reply

