Another Shooting

I have seen more tragedies in my life than many before me did in a lifetime, and I am only 22.

I have seen the World Trade Center bombed once in 1993.

The Oklahoma City bombing in 1995.

The Columbine shooting in 1999

The 9/11 attacks in 2001.

The two wars that followed.

The Sandy Hook Shooting

The Aurora Theater Shooting

The Arapahoe High School Shooting

The Boston Marathon Bombing

The two news reporters shot on air

And now the school in Oregon.

And countless others.

And every single time, I feel like I need to write about it. But what can I even say? Everytime I’m at a loss for words. And the scary part is, I’m no longer surprised at these tragedies. It’s just a part of life.

There have been times when I’m in a crowded place and I have to stop and think about where I might go if something were to happen. I’ve had nightmares about shootings on campus, and about not being able to reach my loved ones.

To me, it seems the only thing to do after such events is to unite together. But all it does is tear us apart. We look for blame; we say “you believe in this so you’re partially to blame,” or “you voted for this so you’re the reason this happens.” Why do events like this have to divide us?

I am a firm believer that we all have much more in common than we think, and than we are willing to admit to. It doesn’t have to be “us vs. them” “we vs. you.” The only way to get things done is to band together and that is something that we need to work on.

One thought on “Another Shooting

Leave a Reply

