Eff I’m in My Twenties Day 29: Ideal Partner

I seem to be running out of steam on the F*ck I’m in My Twenties Guided Journal prompts. I should have spaced them out more because now I have done all the ones that were most interesting to me and the ones that are left are either not going to get posted or not going to get done at all.

Today I am using one of the pages as inspiration for this post. It says, “Qualities I’m looking for in my ideal partner.” Which I could easily do, but it just doesn’t seem as fun. My plan for that is to write things that I love about my current partner instead. He’s pretty ideal to me.

  1. He wants better for me. Alex understands that my current job is not the one I want, or the one I’m meant for. He listens to me vent all the time and never complains about it (at least not to me). He knows that I am not the kind of person to think I am above any job. But he reminds me that I’m better than my job. Not in the sense that I’m entitled or above the work that I do, but in the sense that I’m not living up to my full potential. He makes me feel like I can do so much more than what I’m doing. And that can have a pretty powerful effect on someone.
  2. He loves my weirdness. At the end of the day, I am a weirdo. We all are in our own ways. When I am feeling goofy or overly tired or just plain weird, he not only tolerates it, he embraces and appreciates my weirdness. And he allows me to see his weird side also. And when we’re both being goofy, we can look at each other and say, “Our kids are going to be so weird!”
  3. We are both family oriented. While this does cause some of our fights, (i.e. who is spending more time with the others’ family, where we spend holidays, etc.) it is one of the things that makes us such a great match. At the end of the day, our families mean the world to us. He’s a homebody and loves to just hang out and talk with his loved ones. I can’t help but think about how this will translate when he eventually becomes a father and I get really excited at the thought of our two families becoming one.
  4. He’s patient. Generally. I am not the kind of person to open up quickly, or easily. I will think about what I’m going to say for hours before I actually muster up the courage to say it. Because of this, it can get very frustrating when I am upset. But instead of giving up, he sits there and he holds my hand, or looks me in the eyes, and he waits. He allows me all the processing time I need to say what I need to say in the way I need to say it. He knows it won’t be a quick process, and yes sometimes that annoys him and he tries to hurry it up, but at the end of the day, he knows that I want and need to say what’s bothering me, so the patience will pay off.
  5. He wants me to be a part of his life. Whether he can’t decide which backpack to buy or what to make for lunch, he is willing to ask me and include me in his life.
  6. He taught me that I can love, and be loved. He came into my life when I was sure that I was done with dating, and relationships. I warned him that I am high maintenance and closed off and cold-hearted. I believed that I was unlovable and unable to love. He proved me wrong. He showed that it was okay to love someone, and to trust someone. And in return, he showed me that the right person would also be able to love me. The way I deserved to be loved.
  7. As cheesy as this is going to sound, his arms feel like home. 
  8. You can't fake smiles like that :)

    You can’t fake smiles like that 🙂

Leave a Reply

