Eff I’m in My Twenties Day 23: Pet Peeves

One of the pages in the F*ck I’m in My Twenties Guided Journal has drawings of a cat and a dog and a title that says “Pet Peeves.” Honestly, I’ve been avoiding this because I don’t want to be one of those bloggers that only complains and writes about things that bother them. However, we all have our pet peeves and I have learned to just accept them, so without further ado, here’s my list of pet peeves.

1. Improper use of you’re and your, they’re, their, and there, and than and then: Shocking I know. A writer dislikes improper usage and grammar? How original. But really. Nothing ruins a written compliment like the improper use of your. “Your beautiful.” My beautiful what? At least finish your sentence, otherwise you’re just going to leave me wondering. “They’re wondering if you put their coats over there.” Is a sentence you can remember to help with those tricky they’res, theres, and theirs. Lastly, “than” is used when comparing and “then” is used for a conjunctive adverb. “When” rhymes with “then.” If you’re asking “when” you can remember to answer “then.” The word compare has an A in it, just like “than.”
Phew. Okay, I’m good now!

2. Unpaid interns, writers, and other workers. Everyone should be paid for their time. Unless you explicitly say, “This is a volunteer position” you need to pay people. For more information, check out these resources.

3. Not courtesy waving. I lose all faith in humanity when I am driving. Until, that brief moment when someone is kind enough to courtesy wave after I made room for them to change lanes. It makes my day when I get a courtesy wave because they are generally very rare. It’s not hard, simply raise your hand when you have gotten over far enough for the driver behind you to see it. People are assholes, and many times won’t let you into their lane for no reason. Therefore, when someone decides not to be an asshole and does let you over, politely, and silently thank them with a gentle courtesy wave. All better.

4. Along the same vein of the courtesy wave is leaving your blinker on. I mean, can you not hear that incessant ticking sound? Are you blind to the flashing light on your dashboard? Why is that light still on? I get very stressed out when someone leaves their turn signal on after they successfully turned and/or changed lanes.

5. Hashtags and all things Twitter. This could be a post in itself about my severe abhorrence for Twitter and hashtags. “But you’re a blogger you need to make good use of social media” blah, blah, blah. Twitter and the use of hashtags are the catalysts to the further demise of language. I have turned down jobs because of their requirement that I join Twitter. I am not in the majority opinion on this topic and that is just fine with me.

If I sat here long enough to think about more, I probably could. But I think 5 pet peeves is enough for now.

Don't get me started.

Don’t get me started.

Thanks for reading! Come back tomorrow 🙂

Leave a Reply

