Eff I’m in My Twenties Day 19: Top Priorities

Day 19 of the F*ck I’m in My Twenties Guided Journal posts is making me realize that the options I have left to write about are beginning to dwindle! Today is my top 5 priorities and how they have changed over the years.  See, that’s what the page said!

IMG_461534175

  1. Save money.
  2. Pay off student loans.
  3. Spend time with family.
  4. Find a job I really love or learn to love the one I have.
  5. Stop stressing out. Be happy.

How have these morphed over the past few years?

I’ve always tried to save money here and there but I never cared as much as I do now. I’ve never had as much money as I do now and as much of a reason to save. I’m trying much harder now to save money than I ever did.
Paying off my loans became a serious priority around yesterday. It hit me that I only have about three months left of not having to worry about the bill and that is scary!
Spending time with my family has also been important to me but I’m realizing now that we’re all getting older. We all are getting busier and busier and it is only going to get harder to spend time with them so I need to make sure to do so.
Finding a job that I really love is going to be a never-ending battle so adding the part about learning to love the current job is a completely new priority.
And being happy and not stressing out has always been on the list.

Had I been asked this question four years ago my answers would be completely different. It might look something like this:
1. Stop letting guys walk all over you
2. Study more, procrastinate less
3. Get a cat
4. Make more friends
5. Call family more.
There is some overlap in terms of family and trying to better myself, but for the most part my priorities have completely changed. Even from a year ago when my priorities might be to go out more, go home less, and decorate apartment better. It’s amazing how life changes and wants either become needs or are completely abandoned.

Is there something on the list that you wish was or wasn’t on the list?

Obviously, I wish I didn’t have to save money or pay off my student loans but I do. I wasn’t born into a rich family and I have yet to win the lottery so I just have to deal with that.
I was thinking about why getting married isn’t on the list and I think it is simply because it isn’t time for that to be a priority yet. If I’m going to spend the rest of my life with someone, what difference does a year make?
I also wondered if a task makes the list does that mean it wasn’t a priority before? I don’t know the answer, but if that’s true then I wish that spending time with family wasn’t on the list. It is kind of a given so maybe it still shouldn’t be. Now I just realize that we all won’t be all together all the time. Holidays are changing, birthdays, immediate families themselves are changing. It’s a hard concept to grasp and to learn to accept.

Anyways, like the post about my life plan, this too is subject to change at the drop of a hat. But for now, I have to get back to learning to love my job.

Stay tuned readers.

Leave a Reply

