Eff I’m in My Twenties Day 11: Current Job

Current Employment: Legal Assistant

What is it like? Well… I wanted this job because I needed a push one way or the other to go to law school. I got that push. This job pushed me far away from law school. Of course, the job isn’t the only thing that helped me decide that. I did quite a bit of soul-searching and of course put a tremendous amount of thought into the decision. But this job was the straw that broke the camel’s back. So now, I feel as though this job has served it’s purpose. This job gives me no intellectual challenge and no experience in the field I ultimately want to end up in.

I’ve been reading The Devil Wears Prada by Lauren Weisberger (yes it was a book first) and it’s very easy to relate to. Not that my bosses are devils or nearly as demanding as Miranda Priestly, but rather just the position that I’m in in my life. I almost highlighted a passage of the book that says:

“I tried to forget that this was my life, the reason I’d spent four long years memorizing poems and examining prose, the result of good grades and lots of kissing up. Instead, I ordered Miranda’s tall latte from one of the new baristas and added a few drinks of my own.”

My job isn’t terrible. I’ve had much worse jobs. But this job isn’t my career. It’s hard because I am the first one of my friends to “adult.” I don’t have many people I can commiserate with other than the thousands of bloggers and writers who feel the same way. At least I have that community.

How’s your relationship with your boss/colleagues/customers?

I have only been here a month and a half so it is slowly getting better. I’m not the kind of person to immediately open up or show my true self to people so I’m sure I seem like a quiet and boring assistant who keeps to herself. I’m starting to joke around with co-workers a bit more but I still can’t see any of them being true, lasting friends when I leave this job.

My bosses are attorneys. They tell me what to do and I do it. I ask them for feedback and they give it to me. That’s about it. Now, I’m not generally one who likes to be told what to do, but they are generally appreciative of me. It’s difficult to stay motivated when the tasks that I am assigned are so easy or menial that they really could figure it out if they took two minutes to learn it. And what’s even more frustrating is the fact that if I was gone for one day and they didn’t have any other assistants or help getting things done, they wouldn’t know how to do the simplest tasks that are very necessary to their jobs. It’s like a store manager who doesn’t know how to work a cash register. It’s frustrating and easy, but for now I have to just accept it for what it is.

Where do you wanna go from here?

I’ve applied for a Legislative Editor position. Clearly, I would edit laws for the state of Colorado. The biggest difference between that position and this one is that if I’m editing something, at least I’m getting experience that will help me continue on the path I want to be on. I want to write. I want to be editor-in-chief or simply a senior editor of a magazine or newspaper. I want people to read my words and to be moved by them. I want my writing to make people think; to get a rise out of people; to relate to my audience; to inspire my readers. Most of all, I want my writing to remind someone that they are not alone.

This blog has “Confessions” in the title because I put my heart on the page for you every time I write. I want that to be worth something. I want to be more than just an average, twenty-something blogger. I want to be able to proudly say the words “I’m a writer.”

9 thoughts on “Eff I’m in My Twenties Day 11: Current Job

  1. tomrains says:

    If you keep looking, you’ll find something better 🙂 I wonder if some of your friends are “jealous” of you, though, since you’re in the “adult” world and they’re not? I’ve felt that way about friends before!

    Like

Leave a Reply

