Advice to Young Writers: The New Yorker

Today I am taking a step back from my series of Eff I’m in my Twenties posts, to share an article that my dear friend, Hanna shared with me for words of encouragement.

Not only is this article full of quotes that are absolutely Facebook status worthy, and completely relevant for writers, it also made me buy the book it is referring to throughout. It reminds us young writers to write. Regardless of what people may say and regardless of how we feel about our own lives and our own writing. And for me, it reaffirmed that I am writing for the right purpose: “The writer’s job is to say those things that appear unsayable, to cloak with language those volatile experiences that seem barely able to endure it.”

Take a read; I hope you enjoy it as much as I did.

2 thoughts on “Advice to Young Writers: The New Yorker

Leave a Reply

