Perks and Pitfalls of Planning

Anyone that has known me longer than ten minutes learns that I am a planner. Like anything else in life, there are perks to being a planner and some pitfalls. I am generally one step ahead of people around me, think about factors that others don’t, and get things done on time or ahead of schedule. However, that does not leave a lot of room for spontaneity, and when my plans do not work out the way I had hoped, I tend to handle it poorly.

The job that I have right now I accepted because of the student loan debt that looms over my head like a dark cloud. I accepted it because I thought I would be stupid not to, because I thought that it is what I have to do to get where I want to be. And maybe it still is, but right now, all I know for sure is that this is not where I wanted to be at this point in my life and that bothers me. It drives me crazy that I am using my writing degree to write schedules. However, I am learning that the timing of events in my life may not go as planned, but maybe those plans will still come to fruition anyways.

I looked out the window tonight and saw a sunset that almost took my breath away. The warm hues of pink and orange looked as though they were painted there with water colors. And I couldn’t help but walk outside and just take it in; and breath in and out and be grateful that I am able to do so. I woke up this morning dreading the day, and now I can go to sleep appreciating the day.

Colorful Colorado

Colorful Colorado

A door that I thought had closed, may soon be opening for me. Tomorrow is a big day for me. I need all the good vibes, prayers, love, whatever it is you believe in. I know that there are other people more deserving so just make it a quick one. All I can do is hope for the best. Tomorrow is another day. I need to try not to dread the days that I have, regardless of how mundane they may be. Some people would give anything for just one more mundane day.

life quote

One thought on “Perks and Pitfalls of Planning

Leave a Reply

